In case of tragic birth

Florida is gearing up to provide birth certificates for miscarriages:

Gov. Rick Scott signed a bill Wednesday that will allow the state to start issuing “certificates of nonviable birth” beginning July 1.

Under the Grieving Families Act, the state will issue the certificates only if parents request them.

It would be available to women whose pregnancies end after nine weeks and before 20 weeks of gestation.

After 20 weeks, it’s legally no longer a miscarriage, but a stillbirth, and while the birth certificate may still be requested, a death certificate is required.

Not everyone thinks this is a swell idea:

Were these certificates mandatory, I might raise that eyebrow myself. But they aren’t — at least in the bill as passed and signed. Anything, however, can be amended.





1 comment

  1. Holly H »

    5 June 2017 · 1:41 pm

    It may be optional in Florida, but look what Texas is up to:
    http://www.newsweek.com/abortion-texas-fetus-law-2017-576863

    I had a miscarriage in my late twenties, trying to have my first child. The idea that they would have inflicted this on me when I was stressed-out already, gives me chills.

RSS feed for comments on this post