The Finch Formerly Known As Gold

29 March 2007

No time for stoners

We start with Exodus 12:20:

Ye shall eat nothing leavened; in all your habitations shall ye eat unleavened bread. [KJV]

The Jews have a term, hametz, to denote leavened items, which are barred during Passover. The applicable law requires that you get rid of them before the official beginning of Pesach: they're not allowed anywhere on the premises.

What determines hametz status is whether the presence of water enables fermentation of the grain. The list, which is fairly long, includes wheat, barley, rye — and hemp:

Cannabis is among the substances Jews are forbidden to consume during the week-long festival, which begins Monday, said Michelle Levine, a spokeswoman for [Israel's] Green Leaf party.

Biblical laws prohibit eating leavened foods during Passover, replacing bread with flat crackers called matza. Later injunctions by European rabbis extended those rules to forbid other foods like beans and corn, and more recent rulings have further expanded the ban to include hemp seeds, which today are found in some health oils — and in marijuana.

Passover begins at sundown on the second of April, so you have until that morning to dispose of your stash.

(Via Tinkerty Tonk.)

Posted at 1:10 PM to Almost Yogurt


Dude! Duuuuuude.

Heh. Dude!

Dude.

Posted by: Mister Snitch! at 8:52 PM on 29 March 2007

You don't really have to get rid of it. You can sell it to a Gentile. Honest.

Posted by: miriam at 1:10 AM on 30 March 2007

As long as it's off the premises, right?

Posted by: CGHill at 7:04 AM on 30 March 2007

This might seem rather obvious, but I'd rather just burn the evidence..

..ssssspppppfffffghttt!.. 'ere!

Posted by: Capt;And!? at 10:35 AM on 31 March 2007